Compiled for OzSportsHistory by Brian Membrey
Preston and Gowerville Park
The “Real” Preston Park
While John C Clinch and his fellow councillor's efforts were to provide a lasting legacy for the future citizens of the growing village, the Baptist's original picnic site in Sussex is commemorated by a much grander Preston Park, a 117 acre (400,000 square metre) public park (ours is just nine and a bit acres) owned by Stockton Borough Council and located next to the River Tees in Preston-
The current English Preston Park owes its existence to legendary English bookmaker, William "Billy" Davies, who bequeathed £70,000 to the Stockton Council in 1879 to purchase the original 67 acres.
(In other words, ours is older, but there's is bigger -
The holding was subsequently added to several times, the last in 1947 when the Council acquired the neighbouring Preston Hall, opened in 1953 as a museum.
Ironically, given the problems our local Shire had with cyclists, the English Preston Park boasts a velodrome constructed by hand by the British Army in 1877 and thought to be the oldest cycle track in the UK.
Originally of cinders, it was upgraded in 1936 to a tarmac surface
|Timeline 1875 - 2014|
|Farewell to Jaga Jaga|
|The Price of a Park|
|Preston Park : 1909|
|The Dogs of War|
|War Service Homes|
|Turf Comes To Preston|
|The Winter Sport|
|Turf at Westgarth Street|
|The Real Preston Park|